top of page


2015 Southwest Book of the Year, Chasing Arizona
2015 New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards, Finalist, Chasing Arizona
2011 Southwest Books of the Year, Dry River
2008 Eric Hoffer Notable Book Award, Time of Grace
2008 Arizona Book Award finalist for Best Nature/Environmental Book
2005 Arizona Commission on the Arts grant
2002 John Burroughs Medal for Wilderness and Razor Wire
2000 "Notable Essay: The Best American Essays for "Queen."
1999 Alligator Juniper Prize, Second Place for "Weeds."
1999 "Notable Essay" The Best American Essays for “Of Swallows and Doing Time."
1998 Pushcart Prize nomination for "Of Swallows and Doing Time" in Manoa
1997 Pushcart Prize nomination for "Raptors and Flycatchers" in Snowy Egret
1997 May Clayton Hayes Award for Creative Nonfiction


2007 Soros Justice Fellowship
2005 The Mesa Refuge, Common Counsel Foundation
2005 Salida Residency, Rocky Mountain Land Library
2002 The Mesa Refuge, Common Council Foundation

bottom of page